The International Energy Agency (IEA) is an autonomous agency established in 1974. The IEA carries out a comprehensive program of energy co-operations among 28 advanced economies, each of which is obliged to hold oil stocks equivalent to 90 days of its net imports.

The multilateral technology initiatives (Technical Collaboration Programs), supported by the IEA, are a flexible and effective framework for IEA member and non-member countries, businesses, industries, international organizations and non-government organizations. This framework researches breakthrough technologies to fill existing research gaps, to build pilot plants and to carry out deployment or demonstration programs – in short it encourages technology related activities that supports energy security, economic growth and environmental protection.

The Technical Collaboration Program on Heat Pumping Technologies (HPT TCP ) was founded in 1978 under the umbrella of the International Energy Agency. The scope of the HPT TCP covers Heat Pumps, air conditioning and refrigeration, commonly denoted as Heat Pumping technologies.


Under the management of an Executive Committee representing the member countries, the HPT TCP carries out a strategy to accelerate the use of Heat Pumps in all applications and researches where they can reduce energy consumption for the benefit of the environment.

The member countries of the HPT TCP are: Austria, Canada, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States.

In order to execute the strategy, the IEA Technical Collaboration Program on Heat Pumping Technologies initiates a broad range of activities. These include:

  • Collaborative projects in Annexes
  • Communication from the Annexes through workshops, analysis studies and for the overall TCP through the Heat Pump Centre with the Website and Heat Pump Technologies Magazine
  • A Heat Pump Conference, which is held every three years organized by one of the participating countries in the TCP


The collaborative HPT TCP projects are known as “Annexes” and are conducted on either a cost-sharing and/or a task-sharing basis by the participating countries. One country appoints an Operating Agent to manage the Annex, mostly for a limited period. The objectives can vary from information exchange to the development and implementation of technology. A total of 48 of such Annexes have been initiated to-date. The current Annexes are:

  • 41 – Cold Climate Heat Pumps (improving low ambient temperature performance of Air-Source Heat Pumps)
  • 42 – Heat Pumps in Smart Grids
  • 43 – Fuel-driven sorption Heat Pumps
  • 44 – Performance indicators for energy efficient supermarket buildings pumps
  • 45 – Hybrid Heat Pumps
  • 46 – Domestic Hot Water Heat Pumps
  • 47 – Heat Pumps in District Heating
  • 48 – Industrial Heat Pumps phase II
  • 49 – Nearly Zero Energy Buildings (continuation on Annex 49)
  • 50 – Heat Pumps in Multi Family Buildings
  • 51 – Acoustic Signature of Heat Pumps

Heat Pump Centre

The Heat Pump Centre (HPC) is the central information activity of the IEA Technology Collaboration Programme on Heat Pumping Technologies. The centre links people and organisations worldwide in support of heat pumping technologies and communicates through National Teams (NT) in the HPT TCP member countries. More information can be found on the website of the program.

An important activity is the publication of the regular Heat Pumping Technologies Magazine. The first two issues in 2017 extensively cover the 12th IEA Heat Pump Conference, these can be downloaded now: